Conservative House Leadership Team

July 21, 2017

Last month, Andrew Scheer, Leader of the Conservative Party and Canada’s Official Opposition, announced his new leadership team.  Including the leader, this team includes representation from every province that elected a Conservative MP. 


Andrew has created a strong, experienced, and regionally diverse team to lead the Conservative caucus in the House of Commons.  Their collective talents give me great optimism for when session resumes in fall.  Here is a summary of each of the positions:


Deputy Leader of the Official Opposition: Hon. Lisa Raitt (MP for Milton, ON)

The second-in-command to the leader.  They advise and assist the leader and may stand in when the leader is not available. 


Quebec Political Lieutenant: Alain Rayes (MP for Richmond—Arthabaska, QC)

A position dating back to before Confederation.  The main representative, spokesman, and advisor for the leader in representing the province of Quebec and its unique historical, political, and constitutional place in Canada.


House Leader of the Official Opposition: Hon. Candice Bergen (MP for Portage—Lisgar, MB)

In charge of managing the party’s affairs in the House of Commons.  Plays a key role in inter-party negotiations, procedure, and scheduling. 


Chief Opposition Whip: Mark Strahl (MP for Chiliwack—Hope, BC)

In charge of managing Members of Parliament.  This includes ensuring that quorum is maintained in the House and that Members are available, present for, and informed of votes. 


Deputy House Leader of the Official Opposition: Chris Warkentin (MP for Grande Prairie—Mackenzie, AB)

 Assists the House Leader in their duties and organizes the Conservative strategy in Question Period. 


I congratulate my colleagues and am confident that the new Conservative leadership team will do a great job aiding Andrew in standing up for Canadians and holding the government to account. 


I trust you have found this information of interest.